Will you be my Bridesmaid?

 

Ahhhhhh yes…time to pick bridesmaids.

This was quite possibly one of the hardest things to do in wedding prep. You see, I have three sisters and a number of close friends. At the same time, I thought it would be aesthetically beautiful to have one attendant. So basically the math was not working in my favor. In the end I chose to have six attendants because I wanted my sisters to be up there with me as well as some of my closest friends. My dilemma with my selected bridesmaids was that they live in 5 different states so I couldn’t take them out to tea or anything to ask them. So instead, I decided to send some tea and ask them that way! I took that concept, rolled up my sleeves, and got creative to make some “Will you be my bridesmaid?” goodies!

So I had some criteria they had to meet:

  1. Mailable–I wanted this cheap but dependable so I sent them via USPS Priority Mail Flat Rate small boxes with dimensions: 8-5/8″ x 5-3/8″ x 1-5/8″
  2. Inexpensive–again I’m trying to save money here….
  3. Cute–because I can

With that I got busy to make some little gifts! I just think those little ring pop gifts are the cutest so I set out to make my own! I made the cutest little boxes and combined those with some tea and a card.

 

Here are the final results!

The total package included instructions on the order of opening things, a bag of tea I got from my favorite local tea shop, the little ring-pop box, and a card!

Free Printables:

Feel free to print the PDF’s of the package instructions and the cards if you’d like! (Click the image for download) I just used cream cardstock to print them out.

cardsbox-instructions

Price Breakdown:

-15 ct. ring pop bag-$11.00

-Paper 5o cents per page x 3 pages=$1.50

-6 bags of specialty tea $15

-$6.80 per box shipping x 3= $20.40

Total w/o shipping: $27.50

Total w/ shipping: $47.90

 

Box Instructions:

Supplies:

-12″x12″ cardstock of choice color

-Printables around 3.5″x4″ in size.

-Glue–I used good ol’ Elmer’s crafting glue

-Scissors and/or a straight cutter

-Pencil

-Ruler

-Clothespins or some other vice-like object

I got my box idea from here and my lovely free printable from this blog!

  1. Make a mock-up to double-check the fit. Using my desired printout, I drew out the center after printing the image as a quarter of a page. Then I added 1.25″ edges that would later be folded up and a flap. I made mine to fit within the specified box dimensions and also so that they would fit on a 12″x12″ sheet of cardstock/scrapbook paper.

    img_6547
    6″ across at its widest point and 3.5″ at the narrower part. The entire length should be 12″. 1.25″ flap for all the edges around a 3.5″x4.12″ center.
  2. Trace-out your template and cut out the pieces. I also drew folding lines for future reference. I also last-minute used the extra paper at the end to create little tabs to keep the boxes shut. You trim them to your preferred length at the end.img_6549

3. Fold all of your creases. Make sure to do the corners as well.

img_6552

4. Add glue to one portion of the inside flap and also on the outside as illustrated below. I suggest doing steps 4&5 one corner at a time.

5. Fold the corner up to form the box and pin to try for a couple of hours.

img_6555

6. Glue on your paper–use the glue sparingly to prevent major wrinkling. Trim to tab piece, put in a little tissue paper, a ring pop, tie up with string and viola!

img_6556

 

I hope you enjoyed this! Share pictures if you make your own! 🙂

 

À bientôt!

Em

 

Leave a Reply

