Whole30 Day 1 and Turnips

Well it was interesting…

I caught myself reaching for bad snacks alllllllll day! It was so hard to avoid automatically grabbing some off-limit bites. But there were some highlights. I really enjoyed the meals I  had and my dad smoked some amazing brisket for dinner. To go with the brisket I enjoyed some turnip “fries.”

I used this recipe for inspiration, but really improvised from there. The turnips had been given to my grandmother by a friend (yay excess garden produce!) and I needed to do something with them. The roasted turnips ended up delicious! Even my anti-turnip sister loved them! Here’s my little recipe.

Roasted Turnips

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

img_6861

Ingredients

  • 2 dozen small turnips
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbs. coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 Tbs. herbs de provence
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Set the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Slice the turnips into 1/4 inch thick rounds. Leaving the skins on is completely okay! (I spent forever peeling them before I realized they are perfectly okay with the skins.)
  3. In a bowl, coat the sliced turnips with the oil and add in the garlic, herbs, and salt/pepper.
  4. Spread evenly across a pan and bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Flip the rounds and roast for an additional 10 minutes.
  6. Remove and enjoy!

À bientôt,
Em

Leave a Reply

