Sweet Potato & Turkey Casserole

So when I first started considering Whole30 I honestly had no idea what I was going to eat. After some pinteresting, I found this recipe for Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie. IT. WAS. SO. GOOD. Since first making it, I’ve adjusted it in a couple of ways and its become a favorite in my family. Without further ado…my sweet potato & turkey casserole.

<strong>Sweet Potato & Turkey Casserole</strong>

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A savory and delish dish easy for a quick dinner and great for freezing for later!

Ingredients

Filling:

-1½ lb. ground turkey

-2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped

-1 green pepper, chopped

-1 small onion, chopped

-1-1½ cups sliced mushrooms

-4 cloves garlic, chopped

-½ tsp. herbs de provence

-¾ tsp. chili powder

-¼ tsp. sea salt or to taste

-¼ tsp. black pepper

-6 oz. tomato paste (about one small can)

Topping:

-4 medium sweet potatoes

-1 Tbsp. coconut oil or butter

-½ tsp chili powder

-¼ tsp. sea salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375℉.
  2. Begin cooking potatoes until soft and mashable. I poke holes in the sweet potatoes and then microwave them one at a time at 1 min 30 sec increments, rotating them after each interval (usually three turns is perfect). You could also steam or roast them.
  3. Over medium heat in a large skillet, brown the turkey. Once partially browned add the remaining filling ingredients except the tomato paste.
  4. Once the carrots are softened, add the tomato paste, stir, and put into a 9×13 casserole dish.
  5. For the topping, scoop out the potato insides and discard the skins. Mash them until fairly smooth.
  6. Add remaining topping ingredients and mix well. Spread over the filling in the baking dish.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes, remove from the oven, and serve while its hot!

I hope you enjoy this!

À bientôt,
Em

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato & Turkey Casserole

  1. I’m considering doing Whole 30 soon! I get a lot of headaches, so I’m curious if cutting out certain foods would help get rid of them. Either way, I’m going to tuck this recipe away for reference once I start 🙂

    Like

    1. I highly suggest it! Besides normal cravings, it’s not hard to tackle in terms of finding good food. I’ve really become more conscious of my eating habits, which I was really needing. A bonus has also been a major improvement in my skin! I hardly have gotten any blemishes since beginning.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

